Upcoming Events

March 18, 2024, 9–11am EST/2–4pm CET

Online Seminar with Karma ben-Johanan: “Questions of Definition: Antisemitism Debates and the Problem of Religion”

Zoom

April 22, 2024, 9–11am EST/3–5pm CET

Online Seminar with Ahmed el Shamsy: “A Fourteenth-Century Muslim Theory of Religion”

May 20, 2024, 9–11 am EST / 3–5 pm CET

Online Seminar with Jan Loop: “Co-production under Duress – Captive Labour in Early Modern Orientalist Scholarship”

Zoom

September 1–4, 2024 Schloss Münchenwiler (CH)

Conference: Co-producing Heresies: Judaism, Christianity, and Islam

Schloss Münchenwiler (CH)

June 10-13, 2025, Villa Vigoni (Como Lake, IT)

Conference: The “Excluded Third” in the Co-Production of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam

Organized by Mercedes García-Arenal, Katharina Heyden, David Nirenberg, and Davide Scotto

Judaism, Christianity, and Islam are often understood as an ensemble of three (‘Abrahamic,’ ‘monotheistic,’ scriptural, or prophetic) religious communities and traditions. But often when adherents of two of these “sibling” religions interact, the third is treated as a figure to be marginalized, stigmatized, or instrumentally exploited vis-à-vis the others. This conference proposes to explore this dynamic of the excluded third.

Click this link for the Call for Papers. Proposals are due by June 1, 2024.

Villa Vigoni (Como Lake, IT)

Stay informed about our
latest news & events

Subscribe to our mailing list