Interactive Histories, Co-Produced Communities: Judaism, Christianity, Islam

Our goal is to provide the foundations of a new history of Judaism, Christianity, and Islam as co-produced communities, a history that makes clear the many different ideas and ideals that each of these communities has formed, and continues to form, by interacting with or imagining the others.

Learn more
All Sources

Source in the Spotlight

Making Magic, Co-Producing Religion: The Magic Bowls from Nippur

Making Magic, Co-Producing Religion: The Magic Bowls from Nippur

Today, someone who wants a bit of extra luck might knock on wood, look for a four-leaf clover, or purchase a rabbit's foot. In some parts of the ancient world, someone looking for good fortune might purchase what scholars today call a magic bowl.

Learn more
All Events

Event: Open zoom seminar

Online Seminar with Karma ben-Johanan: “Questions of Definition: Antisemitism Debates and the Problem of Religion”

March 18, 2024, 9–11am EST/2–4pm CET Zoom

Learn more

Event: Open Zoom Seminar

Online Seminar with Ahmed el Shamsy: “A Fourteenth-Century Muslim Theory of Religion”

April 22, 2024, 9–11am EST/3–5pm CET

Learn more

About

Who we are

The project is coordinated by Katharina Heyden, Professor for Ancient History of Christianity and Interreligious Encounters at the University of Bern (Switzerland), and David Nirenberg, Director and Leon Levy Professor at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton (U.S.), and includes a network of collaborators across North America, Europe, and the Middle East.

Learn more

New Case Study

How Enoch Became Idris: The Co-Production of a Prehistoric Biblical Figure

By Jillian Stinchcomb

Read more

Stay informed about our
latest news & events

Subscribe to our mailing list